DV Lottery help

Eligible Countries (Allowed Countries.)

10:14 AM 04/21/2017

American diversity program can be participating by people who were born in eligible country. Eligible country names can't be same as with the previous year one. It will change according to the immigration pattern to the USA, from each country.

Recently, according to the newly elected US President's Executive Order 6 country people were banned from entering in to the United States. So if you are a person from one of these six countries, read the DV Lottery instructions to see whether you are allowed to participate in the draw and can attend the immigrant visa interview, fi you are selected as a winner. Also contact your country US Embassy officer and verify about your country eligibility with them.

The green card program rules requests the participants must have been born in a country which had been listed in the U.S Government's eligible country list. Department of State used to publish the eligible country list every year before the beginning of the draw. Eligible country names together with the ineligible country names used to published after some special calculation on the arrival of immigrants to the U.S.A from each countries. Those country natives who had arrived in to the USA in less number (50,000) within the last 5 years period will be allowed to participate in this draw. Those who were born in an eligible country and currently living in another country or holding the new country's PR or passport too are eligible to participate. But the person must meet the other requirements such as education, work experience and medical fitness.

Persons born in following countries will not be allowed to participate in the Green card draw. BANGLADESH, BRAZIL, CANADA, CHINA (mainland-born), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, EL SALVADOR, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, NIGERIA, PAKISTAN, PERU, PHILIPPINES, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM. Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible to participate in this green card lottery.

Claim and Participate in the draw for ineligible country born people. Neither of your parents was born there or resided there at the time of your birth, you may claim nativity in one of your parents' countries of birth, if it is a country whose natives are qualifying for the draw.

If you were born in an ineligible country and your spouse was born in an eligible country, you can participate in the draw claiming your spouse country for the eligibility. If you had been selected calming your spouse country for eligibility, you must take your spouse too along with you, as you are not allowed to enter alone in to the USA under this program.

Why the draw doesn't allow some country natives from participating in this draw?

Because within the last 5 year period, these countries had sent more than 50,000 people to the USA, and this number of people is enough to maintain their diversity over there. So these country born people are not allowed to submit their applications for the Green Card lottery.

DV Program and the Africa Region Countries.

Earlier, the entire African nations were allowed to participate in this draw. Recently Nigeria had been listed in the ineligible country list as they had reached the 50,000 immigrant limit. So the natives of Nigeria are currently not allowed to participate in the visa name selection draw. Nigerians must wait till the later part of the year to see whether they are allowed to participate in the coming draw or not.

Likewise Bangladesh born people too were barred from entering in this draw. Last year 2016, Ecuador natives were found to be eligible to participate in the DV 2018 Green Card program.

DV-2018 American Visa Lottery Program.

In 2016, DV-2018 visa lottery program's eligible country list was published. Nigeria and Bangladesh were not listed in the eligible country list and Ecuador had been allowed to participate in this year 2018 Green card lottery program.


Under this draw visas are being issued to the eligible winners from October 2016 and the program will close officially on 30th September 2017.


DV-2016 had accepted entries in the year 2014 and was closed officially on 30th September 2016 as the program had achieved its target. All the winnings under this draw are null.


This year eligible country list under the DV-2019 American diversity visa draw will published through the internet and through other Medias. We will publish it here once it is available.